Reasonable WidgetBucks suspicions
Afternoon all, today I spent a bit of time researching and looking up WB information, and here's the list of what i've found to be suspicious of the program overall.
- Complete removal of people's earnings. - There have been many recent reports that all of a sudden WidgetBucks users (mostly ones earning a substantial amount of money) will find past days, or individual Widgets at 0 dollars. I am not speaking of the October earnings, which WB$ kindly fixed on the 11th, this is completely different. Hopefully it will be addressed, hopefully it's just another kink the admins need to work out.
- Earnings being reduced drastically even after turning black. - WidgetBuck's current system of determining CPC is giving a rough estimate based on the Widget niche first (red) and once they actually check the site it is being used on the price is modified, sometimes for good but most times reducing. This is reasonable though and honestly useful, it's good to see near-realtime results..accurate or not. Those complaining about such rates need to understand that they cannot pay a lot of money per Widget click to people who are promoting s*!^$ like diamonds & jewlery on an arcade website. All of this aside, the problem is that after the earnings are cleared (black), they are still being drastically reduced for some people without any messages or notice from WidgetBucks. So basically if you had 500 clicks at .35 cents and they changed your rate for that day to .10 cents, you'd be losing $125. It's a problem.
- Why does the WidgetBucks' blog have a referral link to their site? - On the WB$ blog, found at www.widgetbucks.blogspot.com there is a signup image link on the side. Which normally would be fine if you're promoting your own site, but it sends to a referral link. To me something like this sounds like you're taking money out of your left pocket just to put it back into your right. Doesn't make any sense.
- Banning users once they reach a high amount. - A couple of the bans with WidgetBucks have been because of a change in their policy forbidding any foreign sites that aren't in English. Reasonable, but the majority of bans have been because of "invalid clicks"...not the former. Invalid clicks is what they're putting out and suspending people for, but is that the real reason? I beg to differ - in my opinion the reason is that the user isn't getting enough turnaround and for WidgetBucks. WB$ basically runs through referrals, or at least their sponsors pay them for it. They pay you for clicks hoping that someone will go ahead and buy that product. I believe that if they notice you are making a lot of money but haven't produced any product sales for them, they'll ban you before you can dig deeper holes in their pocket. Of course this is simply speculation, but certainly plausible IMO.
- Customer support line - Have you ever tried to call the phone support for WidgetBucks? Don't bother. I have many times, and each time I get an automated unprofessional answering machine asking me for an extension, or to FWD it to an operator. Any company i've ever dealt with either has an original automated machine (helps with support, problems, etc) or just automatically sends to a available agent who can help. So each and every time it forwards to the operator, I get a guy's answering machine named "Peter" with some drone recording that has nothing to do with WidgetBucks at all, or Mpire for that matter. By the way, this is the company that claims to be backed with 10,000,000 dollars, and if that is the case you'd think they could get some damn support right? Wrong.
Labels: widget sucks, widgetbucks, widgetbucks scam, widgetbucks suspicions









11 Comments:
good site :D
tell 'em the truth!
By
Anonymous, At
November 15, 2007 8:20 AM
I just posted my thoughts about all this on the WidgetBucks Blog. I am pulling all their ads from my sites. I don't need to take a chance with my site income on a company that is having the same kinds of problems that Chitika (I was dropped by them for what I consider no reason and was never paid by them).
I would give them a chance to try and turn this around. Fraud and quality is a big problem for any andvertising network. But they need to WORK WITH PUBLISHERS to get things fixed. If they just drop honest site owners, they are just going to kill their own business.
By
(hris, At
November 15, 2007 10:32 AM
Yeah... I'm pretty sure that post saying that you were going to be banned wasn't from an employee at WidgetBucks. You didn't seriously believe that it was, right? It's one thing to be paranoid, quite another to believe everything you read.
By
Lauren, At
November 15, 2007 1:42 PM
Well, actually, the person who posted the threat was logged into the widgetbucks team account which makes it reasonable to believe it's real. They run a blog through that account at widgetbucks.blogspot.com
By
max, At
November 15, 2007 3:19 PM
Not really--it's Lauren again. Just demonstrating how one might mimic someone else's identity by choosing "Other." Apologies if you were able to identify them in some other, more definite way.
By
team widgetbucks, At
November 15, 2007 7:14 PM
Oh, wow, that's quite the flaw in blogger's system wouldn't you say?
Thanks for the heads up Lauren, I guess it explains why I wasn't banned lol.
By
max, At
November 15, 2007 7:51 PM
Actually, yeah, it's kind of ridiculous. Seems like Google would have thought of that.
Anyway, I've been trying to research WidgetBucks too, because I've read some opinions that tended to be favorable, and others that made me wonder if it is indeed a scam. I know everyone is waiting to see a check in the mail next month. I found one more thing that might be of interest to you:
http://seattle.craigslist.org/see/mar/477745725.html
They're hiring someone to assist the CFO with payment distribution... Seems like a good sign. We'll see what happens come December.
By
Lauren, At
November 15, 2007 9:02 PM
I would not be suprised at all if the company itself turned out to be legitmate, however the amount of people they are banning is astounding.
Not sure if you are a member of Digital Point, but there's been nothing but "WIDGETBUCKS SCAMMED MY $XXXX!!!!" threads these past weeks.
Here's an example if you're interested
Digital Point thread
By
max, At
November 15, 2007 9:43 PM
I want to remain anonymous, but after their announcement on the blog today, I officially taken off my adverts from Widgetbucks with a site that is ranked in the thousands with Alexa.
I'm going to feel bad to the hundred of affiliates that I sent, if none get what they earned. Too bad I don't have their emails to warn them about it.
They really are going to crash and burn if they continue like this.
By
Anonymous, At
November 16, 2007 1:31 AM
I have my own thoughts about widget bucks but I just wanted to comment on couple of comments you made here.
1) my earnings haven't been reduced, at least yet. I got every penny. we hear allot of banning from adsense users to, that makes me think that people who tried to cheat system got their ass kicked :)
2) why do they have link with referal link? easy: to track down amount of registered users through blog. I used this technique before, on my forum :) to trace my marketing campaigns. its easy and simple.
By
My photo blog, At
November 16, 2007 3:59 PM
i saw the official blog of "widgetbucks"
and the blog is full of ads nd referral links
this is throughly unprofessional.
THROUGH THIS BLOG WIDGETBUCKS IS MAKING MONEY OR A GUY CALLED MIKE IS MAKING MONEY FOR TELLING PPL THEIR PROGRAM UPDATES ?
I GUESS THE WIDGETBUCKS MUST REMOVE THIS BLOG AND INTRODUCE A BLOG WHICH IS AD FREE AND LINKS FREE ?
CHECK OUT ADSENSE BLOG AND THEN SET THE STANDARDS!
wht do u ppl think abt. it ?
i feel like clicking on the ads of widgetbucks violently and banning that guy ,
wht is ur opinion ?
By
Mike, At
November 18, 2007 11:17 PM
Post a Comment
<< Home